top of page

Bob Hagan files petitions, formally declares candidacy for the 33rd Ohio Senate District

Leading Democrat says he is running to protect democracy and the right of every Ohioan to achieve the American Dream.



Bob Hagan today formally declared his candidacy for the 33rd District seat in the Ohio State Senate. Hagan, who represented the district from 1997 through 2006, made the announcement after filing his candidacy petitions at the Mahoning County Board of Elections.

In remarks to the diverse group of supporters who accompanied him to the BOE office Hagan said he is seeking the office because he cannot sit on the sidelines as a battle rages for “…the future of our state, the soul of our nation, and the very existence of our democracy.”

He also said he intends to run a campaign of ideas and ideals and will not allow his Republican opponent to hide from or mislead the public. “The people of the 33rd District know who I am and what I believe,” Hagan said. “The same can’t be said about my opponent."

The full text of Mr. Hagan’s remarks follows:
Good morning and thank you all for joining me as I begin my campaign for the Ohio State Senate.
To be honest, and you all know that I, unlike the Republicans who control this state, am always honest, I never imagined that I would be standing here again.

But there is a battle raging for the future of our state, the soul of our nation, and the very existence of our democracy.

And I could not in good conscience sit on the sidelines when so much is at stake.

You all know who I am, what I stand for, who I stand with, and what I believe.

From my first day in the Ohio House back in 1886—excuse me that’s 1986—I fought to improve the lives of working and middle-class families.

I am running to continue that fight.

I am running to protect our civil rights, equal rights, the bill of rights, and the right of each and every Ohioan to grab their piece of the American Dream.

I’m running to defend our democracy by ensuring that every eligible person has the opportunity to cast their ballot and that every ballot cast is counted.

I am running to force this state to keep its promise to provide every child with a world class education that will prepare them to achieve, succeed, and reach their full potential. That promise is being kept less than 50 miles from here in Lebron James’ I Promise Academy.

I am here today to tell you that our state has the resources needed to open an I Promise school in every neighborhood. I won’t rest until we do.

I am running to make college and advanced training accessible and affordable for all.

To address our shameful infant mortality rate by improving our health care delivery system.
To repeal the tax cuts for the wealthy that are robbing local leaders of the resources they need to make and keep our neighborhoods and families safe.
This will be a campaign of ideas and ideals.
You know what mine are.
I will not allow my opponent to hide or run away or lie about his.
Thank you again for joining me today. Together we can build a better, stronger Ohio.
bottom of page